1935 Coin from Palestine
1935 Palestine coin artifact

With the fall of the Ottoman Empire, the League of Nations assigned Palestine to a British mandate in 1920. This 1935 Palestine coin features “Palestine” written in British Mandate Palestine’s three official languages: English, Arabic, and Hebrew. Article 22 of the 1922 Palestine Mandate states: “Any statement or inscription in Arabic on stamps or money in Palestine shall be repeated in Hebrew, and any statement or inscription in Hebrew shall be repeated in Arabic.” The British administration at times supported creating a “national home” in Palestine for Jewish people as stated in the 1917 Balfour Declaration. This support was echoed in the language choices the British Mandate enforced on the coins.

Latest Posts

Stefan Moore

Stefan Moore

A self-described “secular Jew,” documentary filmmaker Stefan Moore wrote about the troubled history of creating the Jewish state for Consortium News. He argues for a shift from fighting for a two-state solution toward a “democratic secular state accommodating both...

read more